20.7 C
Thursday, December 1, 2022

Grant Opportunities: Adaptation Fund Climate Innovation Accelerator

Must read

Deadline: 30-Sep-22

The Adaptation Fund has launched a new USD 10 million pilot small grants programme (Adaptation Fund Climate Innovation Accelerator, AFCIA) to foster innovation in adaptation in developing countries at the United Nations Climate Change Conference (COP25) in Madrid.

The primary objective of the AFCIA administrated by UNEP-CTCN is to support developing countries to test, evaluate, roll out and scale up innovative adaptation practices, products and technologies. Based on technical assistance services, 25 micro-grants projects will be implemented for 5 years to enhance climate resilience and adapt to climate change in the countries.

Moreover, the AFCIA will facilitate knowledge sharing and the exchange of best practices, strengthening opportunities of South-South and triangular cooperation on innovation in adaptation among the countries.


The following three elements will be considered in identifying and assessing innovation in adaptation technologies.

  • A new, existing or improved technology
  • A hard and soft technology
  • A scalable technology
Adaptation Sectors

Example of adaptation sectors in the AFCIA includes:

  • Agriculture
  • Coastal zone management
  • Disaster risk reduction
  • Food security
  • Forests
  • Human health
  • Marine and fishery
  • Rural development (resilience)
  • Urban development (resilience)
  • Water management
Funding Information

The Climate Technology Centre and Network (CTCN) works in conjunction with UNEP, receiving USD 5 million to administrate and aggregate 25 micro-grants projects (up to USD 250,000 each).

Eligible Countries
Eligibility Criteria
  • The AFCIA will provide small grants to developing countries to support innovation for effective, long-term adaptation to climate change and is part of the Adaptation Fund’s Innovation Facility.
  • UNEP-CTCN will conduct technical assistance, implementing micro-grants projects in developing countries on a competitive basis.
  • The eligible countries in the AFCIA include developing countries in Africa, Asia-Pacific and Latin America and Caribbean under the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) that do not have National Implementing Entities (NIEs) accredited with the Adaptation Fund (113 countries in total as of April 2021).
  • Among them, priority will be given to Least Developed Countries (LDCs) and Small Island Developing States (SIDS).

For more information, visit https://www.ctc-n.org/technical-assistance/adaptation-fund-climate-innovation-accelerator-afcia

- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article